The winners of the 2018 Writers’ Guild Awards have been announced at a ceremony at the Royal College of Physicians in London.

British playwright Caryl Churchill was presented with the Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award, which was presented by playwright (and fellow Writers’ Guild Award winner and WGGB member) Lucy Kirkwood, in honour of her body of work and a career which has spanned over six decades since penning and staging her first play, Downstairs, in 1958.

Female writers were represented in 9 of the 15 awards. Best Short Form TV Drama winner Sarah Phelps for The Witness for the Prosecution; Best Writing in a Video Game was won by Elizabeth Ashman-Rowe together with Tameem Antoniades for dark fantasy action-adventure game Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice; and writer Emily Ballou formed part of the writing team alongside Chips Hardy, Steven Knight and Ben Hervey, who picked up the award for Best Long Form TV Drama for Taboo.

Other winners included Inside No. 9 “The Bill”, written by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton, which scooped the Best TV Situation Comedy award; Best Screenplay was awarded to Miss Sloane by Jonathan Perera; the Best Long Running TV Series award went to BBC drama Holby City, Series 19, Episode 2 “Rocket Man’” written by Peter Mattessi; picking up the award for Best Children’s TV Episode was Tim Bain for Counterfeit Cat “Room of Panic”; Babak Anvari was awarded Best First Screenplay for Under the Shadow, while Marek Larwood walked away with the Best Online Comedy award for Showreel for One Word or Less Parts.


Outstanding Contribution to Writing
(Presented by Lucy Kirkwood): Caryl Churchill

Best Online Comedy
(Presented by Jack Docherty): Showreel for One Word or Less Parts by Marek Larwood

Best Long Running TV Series
(Presented by Natalie Cutler): Holby City, Series 19, Episode 2 “Rocket Man” by Peter Mattessi

Best Writing in a Video Game
(Presented by Mata Haggis): Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice by Tameem Antoniades and Elizabeth Ashman-Rowe

Best Children’s TV Episode
(Presented by Howard Read): Counterfeit Cat “Room of Panic” by Tim Bain

Best Radio Comedy
(Presented by Helen Lederer): Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy “A Day In October” by Sarah Kendall

Best Long Form TV Drama
(Presented by Stefan Booth): Taboo by Chips Hardy, Steven Knight, Ben Hervey, Emily Ballou

Best First Novel
(Presented by Daisy Goodwin): The Bureau of Second Chances by Sheena Kalayil

Best First Screenplay
(Presented by Tony Grisoni): Under the Shadow by Babak Anvari

Best Radio Drama
(Presented by Nicholas McInerney): The Things We Never Said by Ming Ho

Best Play for Young Audiences
(Presented by Lisa Evans): How to Be a Kid by Sarah McDonald-Hughes

Best Play
(Presented by April De Angelis): The Children by Lucy Kirkwood

Best Screenplay
(Presented by Robert Harling): Miss Sloane by Jonathan Perera

Best TV Situation Comedy
(Presented by Brenda Gilhooly): Inside No. 9 “The Bill” by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton

Best Short Form TV Drama
(Presented by Charlie Hardwick): The Witness for the Prosecution by Sarah Phelps

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.