The new music video for animated band Gorillaz is directed by Gorillaz co-founder Jamie Hewlett and Nexus Studios’ Fx Goby.

The psychedelic video for new track ‘Cracker Island’ ft. Thundercat “takes viewers on a late night jaunt to the City of Angels.”

Originally based at Kong Studios in West London, Gorillaz have relocated to Silverlake, California as they recruit new members to join ‘The Last Cult’, in search of the one truth to fix the world.

The band now appear in 3D, “courtesy of a close creative collaboration between Hewlett and Fx Goby.”

The move into 3D “paves the way for multi-platform activations and the opportunity for fans to step further than ever before into the weird and wonderful world of Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D. Jamie and Fx’s fusion of animation and live action blends with clever lighting techniques and hallucinatory appearances by virtuosic bassist, mercurial talent and twice-Grammy winner, Thundercat.”

‘Cracker Island’ is a Nexus Studios and Gorillaz production with on-location support from Tuna Icon (Belgrade) and AzuL (Barcelona), and Grade from Black Kite Studios

“Gorillaz’s iconic and groundbreaking legacy hugely inspired my early animation career. I was thrilled to partner with them to create this blend of live action and animation, and knew we would need the perfect balance between stylised and realistic. I couldn’t be happier with the sculpt and textures both faithful to the design but very much their own version. It was a privilege to work with 2D, Murdoc, Noodle and Russel not only in 3D but in this wild new era” – Fx Goby, Director, Nexus Studios

Production Credits

Directors: Jamie Hewlett & Fx Goby

Executive Producers: Jamie Hewlett & Damon Albarn

Jamie Hewlett and Damon Albarn are managed by Eleven Management A Nexus Studios & Gorillaz Production

Production Company: Nexus Studios

Executive Producers: Charlotte Bavasso & Chris O’Reilly, Mike Bell CG Leads: Dave Hunt & Florian Casper

VFX Supervisor & Compositing Lead: Germán Díez

Director of Photography: Ricky Patel

Editor: Dave Slade

Producer: Jo Bierton

Production Manager: Ruyi Meer

Production Coordinator: Tyler Antin

Production Assistant: Megan Silvester

Storyboard Artist: Rodrigo Aquino Verdun

Character Modeller: Andy Hickinbottom

3D Generalist: Andy Spence

Rigging: Niko Rossi, Nayla Nassar

Modeller & Texture Artist: Catarina Loja

Pipeline TD: Tom Melson

Animators: Fabrice Fiteni, Marylou Mao, Tom Lowe, Fatih Dogan Lead Lighter: Carl Kenyon

Lighting & Rendering: Pawel Adamiec, Rodi Kaya, Daniel Prince Lead Compositor; Sacha Danjou

Compositors: Gareth Tredrea, Sander Saks, Hiral Kawa, Alexey Viatvud, Gourav Kumar, Simran Arora, Osman Baloglu

VFX Editors: Andrea Zantiras, Zaki Fulford

Designer & Matte Painters: Milan Baulard, Callum Strachan, Paul Campion

Designer: Ieuan Lewis

2D VFX Animator: Bethany Levy

3D VFX: Paul Mitcheson

Motion Graphics Designer: Nathan Bayliss

Head of Resources: Natalie Busuttil

Resource Manager: Gigi Kohut

Resource Coordinator: Meg Dupont

Archive Producer: Lisa Savage

Sound FX Designer: JM Finch

Grade Company: Black Kite Studios

Colourist: George K

Colour Assist: Thomas Kumeling

Colour Producer: Jade Denn

Marketing & PR: Valentina Tarelli, Nancy Edmondson, Isobel Wise, Steph Anjo

Service Production Company: Tuna Icon Executive Producer: Ivana Antic

Line Producer: Diana Bojovic Production Manager: Kristina Markovic Production Coordinator: Jovana Krnic Casting Coordinator: Igor Milakov

Key PA: Iva Masic

1st AD: Ivan Grbin

2nd AD: Ratko Obrenov

3rd AD: Danilo Cekovic

Production Designer: Goran Joksimovic

PD Assistant: Livija Mikic

Picture vehicle Coordinator: Dejan Kokot

SFX Supervisor: Zamal M’Barek

Costume Stylist: Ivana Ivic

Stylist Assistants: Ivana Djurkovic & Sofija Jaksic Hair Stylist: Vasilisa Maljm

Makeup Artist: Irena Miletic

Makeup Artist Assistant: Galina Yurkevych Makeup Artist Thundercat: Irene Leon

Key Grip: Ivan Lekovic


Gaffer: Igor Pavlovic

Light desk operator: Nikola Uzelac Focus puller: Milan Kostic

2nd AC: David Kostic

Video Assist: Željko Nikolic

Q-take: Ivan Tanaskovic

DIT: Jovan Nikolic

Playback operator: Srdjan Bajski

Unit Manager: Oliver Rnjak

Transport Coordinator: Miodrag Jovicic


2D, Noodle, Russel Hobbs, Murdoc Niccals, Thundercat

Supporting cast:

Milica Tepavac, Sonja Vukicevic, Ivan Tomic, Rudolf Tsabalala, Vukasin Stanic, Ella Landesman, Sippa Hengprathom, Nani Pavlovic, Tea Simic, Snezana Radivojsa, Rajesh Kalhan, Roda Adan

Spanish Service Co: AzuL

Producer: Lyndsay Fields

Line Producer: Sol Jonas Mackinlay Production Assistant: Judith Gómez Production Runner: Juanma Romera Focus Puller: Rafael Miralles

Video Operator: Victor Rodríguez

DIT: Eduardo Jiménez

Gaffer: Albert Álvarez

Wireless Tech: Martí Pluma

Spark: Pablo Perez

Wardrobe Assistant: Cyntia Rodriguez

Eleven Management are:

Niamh Byrne, Regine Moylett, Tanyel Vahdettin, Stars Redmond, Astrid Ferguson, Gabriele Power, Ellie Nolan, Aston New, Katherine Nash, Suzi Grossman, Selena Dion, Clare Moss, Hannah Norris

With thanks to:

Thundercat, Dom Smith, Alison Smith, Josh Berman.

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.