Writers behind some of the most critically acclaimed works over the last two years were yesterday honoured at the 29th Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards ceremony, including Russell T Davies, Kevin Dyer, Emerald Fennell, Andrea Gibb, Chinonyerem Odimba, Simon Blackwell and Armando Iannucci and Jack Thorne

Hosted by WGGB President Sandi Toksvig,the ceremony saw winners across 16 categories in film, television, radio, theatre, comedy, books, and videogames (see full listing below). The Guild honoured two years of the best of British writing talent, following the cancellation of last year’s awards due to the Covid-19 pandemic. Guests including Richard Herring, Billie Piper, Amanda Redman, and Toby Williams.

Stage and screen writer Jack Thorne was presented with the Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award, by Jane Tranter with whom he collaborated on BBC’s fantasy drama trilogy His Dark Materials.

Thorne’s career has seen him write extensively for TV, film, stage, and radio, winning multiple awards. His TV writing credits include Help, National Treasure, The Virtues, Kiri, The Last Panthers, Glue, The Accident, The Eddy, The FadesShameless, Cast Offs, This Is England ’86This Is England ’88, This Is England ’90, and he was a core writer in the first three series of Skins. He has also written the upcoming BBC 2 film drama Then Barbara Met Alan.

His film work includes the features Enola HolmesThe Scouting Book for BoysThe Aeronauts, Radioactive, The Secret Garden, A Long Way Down, Wonder, War Book and the upcoming The Swimmers. 

Thorne has also written extensively for stage where his most recent credits include After Life, an adaptation of a film by Hirokazu Kore-eda for the National Theatre, the end of history… for the Royal Court, an adaptation of Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol and Büchner’s Woyzeck both for the Old Vic, as well as Headlong’s Junkyard, a co-production with Bristol Old Vic, Rose Theatre Kingston and Theatr Clwyd, and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the Palace Theatre. His radio plays include Left at the Angel and an adaptation of The Hunchback of Notre Dame both for BBC Radio 4, and People Snogging in Public Places for BBC Radio 3’s Wire slot.

Emerald Fennell won Best First Screenplay for her black comedy psychological thriller Promising Young Woman starring Carey Mulligan, with the award presented to her by Olivia Hetreed, while Andrea Gibb won the Best Short Form TV Drama accolade, handed to her by scriptwriter Damon Alexis-Rochefort, for BBC One’s Elizabeth is Missing; the story of an elderly woman living with dementia who struggles to piece together a double mystery.

Comedian Mae Martin and writer Joe Hampson took home the award for Best TV Situation Comedy for Feel Good, presented to them by Helen Lederer, who also presented Hannah George, Taylor Glenn and Catie Wilkins with the Best Online Comedy accolade for Remember Getting the Period Talk at School #Menopause, and multi award-winning Russell T Davies won Best Long Form TV Drama for his celebrated Channel 4 drama It’s A Sin, which was presented by Neil Pearson.

Kevin Dyer won Best Play for The Syrian Baker, handed to him by Emma Reeves, with comedian Eleanor Morton presenting Chinonyerem Odimba with the Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting accolade for Black Love, the first musical to be created for Paines Plough’s Roundabout stage.

Children’s TV royalty Paul Chuckle presented two awards, handing Emma Reeves the accolade for Best Children’s TV Episode for My Mum Tracy Beaker: I want my Mum back, and Martin Travers with the Best Play for Young Audiences award for Whatever Happened to the Jaggy Nettles?.

Simon Blackwell and Armando Iannucci won Best Screenplay, handed to them by Andrea Gibb for The Personal History of David Copperfield, starring Dev Patel in the title role, while author Sue Teddern presented Eli Lee with the Best First Novel accolade for her debut A Strange and Brilliant Light, and Avin Shah was awarded in the Best Radio Drama category by broadcaster Samira Ahmed for The Half Widow.

The Best Radio Comedy award went to Olga Koch and Charlie Dinkin for BBC Radio 4’s Olga Koch: Fight – the battle cry for a generation that takes freedom for granted, inspired by a generation that grew up without it, they were given the award by Sioned Wiliam, Commissioning Editor of Comedy for BBC Radio 4 and Radio 4 Extra, and Best Writing in A Video Game was awarded Jon Ingold for Overboard!, handed to him by Giles Watling MP, with Damon Alexis-Rochefort also presenting the Best Long Running TV Series accolade to Jillian Mannion for River City, Series 21, Episode 28.

During the ceremony WGGB Treasurer Gail Renard paid tribute to Adele Rose and WGGB Chair Lisa Holdsworth paid tribute to Ronald Harwood, with further tributes to other WGGB members who had sadly died in the previous two years.

The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS) is the lead sponsor of the 2022 Writers’ Guild Awards. Our other sponsors: BBC, ITV, Script Angel and Nick Hern Books

Full list of Writers’ Guild Awards 2022 Winners:



Outstanding Contribution to Writing

Presenter: Jane Tranter

Jack Thorne

Best Online Comedy

Presenter: Helen Lederer

Remember Getting the Period Talk at School #Menopause by Hannah George, Taylor Glenn and Catie Wilkins

Best Long Running TV Series

Presenter: Damon Alexis-Rochefort

River City, Series 21, Episode 28 by Jillian Mannion

Best Writing in a Video Game

Presenter: Giles Watling MP

Overboard!,  by Jon Ingold

Best Children’s TV Episode

Presenter: Paul Chuckle

My Mum Tracy Beaker: I want my Mum back by Emma Reeves

Best Radio Comedy

Presenter: Sioned Wiliam

Olga Koch: Fight by Olga Koch and Charlie Dinkin

Best Long Form TV Drama

Presenter: Neil Pearson

It’s A Sin by Russell T Davies

Best First Novel

Presenter: Sue Teddern

A Strange and Brilliant Light by Eli Lee

Best First Screenplay

Presenter: Olivia Hetreed

Promising Young Woman by Emerald Fennell

Best Radio Drama

Presenter: Samira Ahmed

The Half Widow by Avin Shah

Best Play for Young Audiences

Presenter: Paul Chuckle

Whatever Happened to the Jaggy Nettles? by Martin Travers

Best Play

Presenter: Emma Reeves

The Syrian Baker by Kevin Dyer

Best Screenplay

Presenter: Andrea Gibb

The Personal History of David Copperfield by Simon Blackwell and Armando Iannucci

Best TV Situation Comedy

Presenter: Helen Lederer

Feel Good by Mae Martin and Joe Hampson

Best Short Form TV Drama

Presenter: Damon Alexis-Rochefort

Elizabeth is Missing by Andrea Gibb

Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting

Presenter: Eleanor Morton

Black Love by Chinonyerem Odimba



Pippa Considine

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: Televisual.com is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.