Nominations have now opened for the Breakthrough Leaders programme for 2023.

With 50 spaces available, the programme, which is now in its third year, identifies and elevates the careers of mid-to-senior TV industry figures from Black, Asian, and ethnic minority backgrounds.

The programme, which is designed by the TV Collective in partnership with global producer Fremantle, industry coach, Remy Blumenfeld, and supported by Indigo Talent targets experienced TV professionals across scripted, non-scripted and production management who have more than eight years in the industry and who are ready to take the next step in their career.

The programme provides individuals with insights from leading industry figures, coaching sessions with a work-life strategist, access to masterclasses, networking events with key decision makers and memberships across the TV industry.

Over the last two years, alumni include Been Khetani, who has won three awards for her Podcast series, including the Gold Award in the Wellbeing Category at the British Podcast Awards, and Moment of Comedy Gold at the International Women’s Podcast Awards; Nelson Adeosun who was part of the production team that won Factual Series at the Television Awards in 2022 for Uprising (2021) as well as the History category at the Royal Television Society and Best History series and Edinburgh Festival Popular Factual Series; Kevin Muyolo’s production company Daddy’s Superyacht which won its first-ever TV broadcast on BBC Three; Anima Badresingh, Series Producer, who won ‘Best Entertainment Show’ at the TV Choice Awards for Gogglebox and Celebrity Gogglebox; Emma Smith who achieved her first Executive Producer credit on the new series of Escaped To The Country for BBC One; Dan Dewsbury who Series Directed Save Our Squad with David Beckham for Disney+; Samira Sorzano who was appointed Global Communications Director for Pulse Films, running the press and marketing for season two of Gangs of London; Jasmine Dotiwala who Series Produced Channel 4’s UnapologeticAdnan Ahmed, Series Director, and Stefan Mattison, Series Editor who produced Hometown: A Teenage Killing Came for BBC Three; Dwayne Eaton who went from BBC Commissioner to Sky Ars Commissioner and Trent Williams-Jones Series Produced series 4 of The Rap Game and is now also a Broadcast Hotshot.

TVC founder Simone Pennant MBE commented: “We are extremely proud of what all our Leaders are achieving. Their breakthroughs have been impressive. They are shaping the future of our TV industry and supporting each other in meaningful ways. Breakthrough Leaders is testimony of what can be achieved with the right support. But this phenomenal talent pool is a tiny fraction of the amazing talent of colour that already exists in our industry. Thanks to the generous support of Fremantle I can’t wait to see what this next cohort will achieve.”

Babita Bahal, Group Head of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Fremantle added: “We look forward to welcoming a third cohort to the programme in 2023. Our collaboration with the TV Collective has been inspiring and impactful, and the amazing achievements from the 101 leaders are evident. We are excited to embark on our third year of support for the Leaders to reinforce our commitment to long-term, meaningful, and lasting change.”

Nominations will close on the 14 January 2023, with 50 places available. Successful applicants to the 2023 Breakthrough Leaders will be announced in February. More details here.

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.