The Sharks Short Film Awards have announced their winners for 2020.

The Grand Prix was won by wetransfer for ‘The Long Goodbye’ which was directed by Aneil Karla and produced by Somesuch. Written by Actor, musician and activist Riz Ahmed to coincide with the release of his new album, The Long Goodbye imagines a dystopian near future and sees Riz unpack his feelings towards his country.

The Long Goodbye also won Best Original Music and Best Acting Performance.

Two awards were given for Best Short Film Under 5 Minutes to Dog Eat Dog for ‘Absent’ and Progress Films for ‘Wake Up’.

In the Short Film Under 15 Minutes category, Try Hard Films won for ‘Good Thanks, You?’ and wetransfer for ‘The Long Goodbye’.

Two awards were given for Best Irish Short Film to Feel Good Lost for ‘Christy’ and to Parallel Films for ‘Sister This’.

Best Animated Short was won by Pink Kong Studios for ‘The Dead Hands of Dublin’ and Best Animation won by Eyebolls for ‘Ladder to You’.

Best Documentary Short went to The Nice things for ‘Saoirse’ and also to 13CO for ‘Inferno’.

Best Direction – International was awarded to 13CO for ‘Inferno’ and Best Direction – Ireland to Army of ID for ‘A Better You’ and Parallel for ‘Sister This’.

Led by jury president MarBelle, a mixture of commissioners and Executive Producers from Screen Ireland, Mother Pictures, PRETTYBIRD and Freefolk awarded the iconic shark trophies to the very best in short film.

MarBelle said: “The Shark Awards have long been an exemplar of the creative excellence that drives the visual arts and this year’s shortlisted and award-winning films not only upheld that standard but also demonstrated the power of diversity behind and in front of the camera. From compelling female centric stories to gripping representations of often over looked groups and communities, the 2020 Shark films abundantly demonstrate the vibrancy of short form filmmaking.”

Best Cinematography was awarded to Lunapark Pictures,Red Breast Productions, Madrefoca and Clever Mule for ‘The Birth of Valerie Venus’.

Stitch won Best Editing for ‘Double Tap’ and Army ID won Best Production Design for ‘A Better You’.

The full list of winners and the shortlist can be seen here.

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.