Moonlight won the best picture prize at an Oscars ceremony that was overshadowed when rival film La La Land was mistakenly named as the winner. 

Presenters Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway initially announced that the romantic musical, the presumed favorite for best picture, had won.

As the casts of both films stood awkwardly on stage, Beatty explained he had been given the wrong envelope to open.

Accountants Price Waterhouse Cooper, who oversee the ballots, said the presenters had mistakenly been given the wrong category envelope.

"We are currently investigating how this could have happened, and deeply regret that this occurred,"  PwC said in a statement.

La La Land went into the Oscars with a leading 14 nominations and emerged with six, including for its director Damien Chazelle, 32, who became the youngest person to ever win a best director Oscar.

Arrival, Moonlight, Fences and Hacksaw Ridge scooped acting and technical awards, denying La La Land a record-setting haul of prizes.

Manchester by the Sea star Casey Affleck was named best actor.

African-American coming-of-age tale Moonlight’s win capped a big night for diversity in the film industry. Mahershala Ali became the first Muslim actor to win an Oscar, taking best supporting actor for Moonlight. Viola Davis won best supporting actress for Fences – it was the first time African Americans simultaneously won in both categories.

The Jungle Book, whose effects were largely created by MPC in London, won the vfx Oscar.

The full list of winners at the 89th Academy Awards.

Best picture
Winner: Moonlight
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea

Best actress
Winner: Emma Stone – La La Land
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Ruth Negga – Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins

Best actor
Winner: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Denzel Washington – Fences

Best supporting actress
Winner: Viola Davis – Fences

Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion
Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea

Best supporting actor
Winner: Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Dev Patel – Lion
Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals

Best director
Winner: La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
Hacksaw Ridge – Mel Gibson
Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Best original screenplay
Winner: Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

20th Century Women – Mike Mills
Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou

Best adapted screenplay
Winner: Moonlight – Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney

Arrival – Eric Heisserer
Fences – August Wilson
Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi
Lion – Luke Davies

Best original score
Winner: La La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Jackie – Mica Levi
Lion – Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka
Moonlight – Nicholas Britell
Passengers – Thomas Newton

Best original song
Winner: La La Land – City of Stars by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

La La Land – Audition by Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul
Moana – How Far I’ll Go by Lin-Manuel Miranda
Trolls – Can’t Stop the Feeling by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster
Jim: The James Foley Story – The Empty Chair by J Ralph and Sting

Best cinematography
Winner: La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Arrival – Bradford Young
Lion – Greig Fraser
Moonlight – James Laxton
Silence – Rodrigo Prieto

Best foreign language film
Winner: The Salesman – Iran

A Man Called Ove – Sweden
Land of Mine – Denmark
Tanna – Australia
Toni Erdmann – Germany

Best costume design
Winner: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood

Allied – Joanna Johnston
Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
Jackie – Madeline Fontaine
La La Land – Mary Zophres

Best make-up and hairstyling
Winner: Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson

A Man Called Ove – Eva Von Bahr and Love Larson
Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo

Best documentary feature
Winner: OJ: Made in America

Fire At Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
Life, Animated

Best sound editing

Winner: Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare

Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright
La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan
Sully – Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman

Best sound mixing

Winner: Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace

13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Gary Summers, Jeffrey J Haboush and Mac Ruth
Arrival – Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye
La La Land – Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A Morrow
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Best animated short
Winner: Piper – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer

Blind Vaysha – Theodore Ushev
Borrowed Time – Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj
Pear Cider and Cigarettes – Robert Valley and Cara Speller
Pearl – Patrick Osborne

Best animated feature
Winner: Zootopia

Kubo and the Two Strings
My Life as a Zucchini
The Red Turtle

Best production design
Winner: La La Land – David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco

Arrival – Patrice Vermette and Paul Hotte
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig and Anna Pinnock
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor and Nancy Haigh
Passengers – Guy Hendrix Dyas and Gene Serdena

Best visual effects
Winner: The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R Jones and Dan Lemmon

Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton
Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould
Kubo and the Two Strings – Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould

Best film editing
Winner: Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert

Arrival – Joe Walker
Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts
La La Land – Tom Cross
Moonlight – Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon

Best documentary short
Winner: The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara

4.1 Miles – Daphne Matziaraki
Extremis – Dan Krauss
Joe’s Violin – Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen
Watani: My Homeland – Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis

Best live action short

Winner: Sing – Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy

Ennemis Interieurs – Selim Azzazi
La Femme et le TGV – Timo Von Gunten and Giacun Caduff
Silent Nights – Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson
Timecode – Juanjo Gimenez

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.