The winners of the The Edinburgh Television Festival TV Awards were announced last night with Channel 5 picking up the gong for best channel.

CPL Productions was awarded the best production company prize and Michael Palin was given the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Edinburgh TV Awards Winners 2018

Channel of the Year Award:
Channel 5

Specialist Channel of the Year

Production Company of the Year sponsored by PRS for Music:
CPL Productions

Best Entertainment Series: sponsored by Pinewood TV Studios
Gogglebox, Studio Lambert

Best Popular Factual Series:
Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds, CPL Productions

Best UK Drama
Three Girls, BBC Studios, Studio Lambert

Best Breakthrough Talent: sponsored by The Farm
Rachel Parris

Best Comedy Series
Derry Girls, Hat Trick

Lifetime Achievement Award
Michael Palin

Best Documentary Programme
Blue Planet II, BBC Studios NHU, BBC Worldwide

Best International Drama
The Handmaid’s Tale, An MGM and HULU production

Channel 4 / Random Acts Live Pitch Award: sponsored by Channel 4
Sophie Perrins

TV Moment of the Year: sponsored by Twitter
Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on Good Evening Britain, ITV

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.