The Creative Diversity Network (CDN) has launched a call for entries for its 2017 Television Diversity Awards. 

The awards reward outstanding quality, creativity and diversity in television that represents all aspects of British society.

The award categories are designed to acknowledge outstanding work both on and off-screen and serve to showcase exciting breakthrough talent.

Eligible programmes, onscreen performances and authored work must have had their first transmission in the UK between 30th November 2014 and 30th November 2016.

This year’s categories include Outstanding Programme in each of the Drama, Comedy, Entertainment, Factual and News and Current Affairs genres. Entries will need to demonstrate content that that challenges stereotypes, reflects modern Britain, is thought provoking and offers a chance for under-represented groups to tell their own stories.

The second set of awards is dedicated to Change Makers: individuals, channels or companies who are widening the understanding of diversity and championing culture change across the television industry – on and off screen. The categories include: Production Company of the Year; Commissioner or Channel of the Year; Authors/Creatives; Onscreen Talent; and Diversity Champion

CDN will also present a special award to one individual who has made an outstanding contribution to promoting diversity in television.

Deborah Williams, CDN Executive Director said: “While diversity has become a buzz word in the industry and we have seen progress on and off screen, there still remains much to be done before our programming and the make-up of those creating content truly reflects the diversity of the UK’s population. These awards are designed to celebrate the trailblazers and those who’ve done most to change the way the industry, and ultimately the viewing public think about diversity.”

Previous winners have included: The Last Leg (Comedy and Entertainment Programme), Letting Go (Factual Programme), David Olusoga (Writer/Director), Siobhan Sinnerton (Special Recognition for commissioning), Liz Warner (Diversity Champion), Zawe Ashton (Breakthrough Talent) and Holby City (Achievement in Production).

Entries can be submitted from today through the dedicated CDN awards website:

The deadline for entries is Friday 10 March.

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.