The Broadcasting Press Guild has announced the nominations for its Television Awards with Detectorists, Inside No. 9, Line of Duty and The Crown among the shows up for gongs.

The BPG Awards – which are for work commissioned in the UK and screened in 2017 – are selected independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers.

The 44th annual BPG awards, sponsored by Virgin TV, will be held at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane on Friday March 16th 2018.

The full list of nominations

Best Single Drama /Mini-series
Delicious 2 (Sky 1)   
Eric, Ernie and Me (BBC Four)   
Little Women (BBC One)   
Three Girls (BBC One)    

Best Drama Series
Line of Duty (BBC One)       
Peaky Blinders (BBC Two)   
The State (Channel 4)   
Tin Star (Sky Atlantic)   

Best Single Documentary/Mini-series
Chris Packham: Aspergers and Me (BBC Two)           
Idris Elba: Fighter (Discovery)           
Old People’s Home For 4 Year Olds (Channel 4)   
Sgt Pepper’s Musical Revolution (BBC Two)   

Best Documentary Series
Blue Planet II (BBC One)       
Hospital (BBC Two)           
Rock and Roll (Sky Arts)
Trump: An American Dream (Channel 4)

Best Online First /Streaming
Black Mirror (Netflix)   
End of the F***ing World (All 4, Channel 4)
People Just Do Nothing (BBC Three)
The Crown (Netflix)

Best Comedy
Detectorists (BBC Four)
Inside No. 9 (BBC Two)       
Peter Kay’s Car Share (BBC iPlayer, BBC One)       
The Trip To Spain (Sky Atlantic)       

Best Entertainment/Factual
The Great British Bake-Off (Channel 4)   
Strictly Come Dancing (BBC One)   
Taskmaster (Dave)       
The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)

Best of Multichannel
Rock and Roll (Sky Arts)
Taskmaster (Dave)
Tin Star (Sky Atlantic)   
The Trip to Spain (Sky Atlantic)       

Best Actress
Hayley Atwell, Howard’s End   
Claire Foy, The Crown                   
Thandie Newton, Line of Duty           
Maxine Peake, Three Girls               
Emily Watson, Little Women/Apple Tree Yard
Best Actor
Sean Bean, Broken               
Mark Bonnar, Unforgotten/Eric, Ernie and Me/Catastrophe/Apple Tree Yard   
Babou Ceesay, Guerrilla           
Toby Jones, Detectorists               
Matt Smith, The Crown               

Writer’s Award
Mackenzie Crook, Detectorists               
Jed Mercurio, Line of Duty               
Peter Morgan, The Crown               
Reece Shearsmith & Steve Pemberton, Inside No 9

BPG Innovation in Broadcasting
Albert – the free online tool for calculating a production’s carbon footprint
BBC Three – for showcasing new comedy talent
Channel 4 – for new advances in championing diversity both on and off screen

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.