The winners of this year’s BAFTA Children & Young People Awards were announced last night, at a ceremony in London’s Old Billingsgate, with BBC shows landing six of the 14 awards and Apple TV+ receiving four.

Magic Light Pictures’ The Snail and the Whale won the BAFTA for Animation and first-time winners Max Lang & Daniel Snaddon won in the Director category.

There were two first-time winners across the performance categories. George Webster won the BAFTA for Presenter for his work across CBeebies Presentation and Taiya Samuel won for Young Performer for her role in JoJo & Gran Gran.

Chris O’Dowd won in Performer for his role in Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet Earth.

Content for Change award was won by El Deafo, from Lighthouse Studios in association with Apple/Apple TV+, which tells the story of a young Cece and her inner superhero alter ego El Deafo, as Cece starts to lose her hearing.

Animated feature Wolfwalkers won the award for Feature Film for Cartoon Saloon and Melusine Productions in association with Apple/Apple TV+.

The BAFTA for Non-Scripted was presented to FYI: Ukraine Invasion Special, from Fresh Start Media/Sky Kids. And the award for Scripted went to Dodger, produced by Universal International Studios for CBBC. The Writer award went to The Amazing World of Gumball, by Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network.

Pre-School Animation was presented to Hey Duggee, from Studio AKA, BBC Studios Kids & Family for CBeebies, marking its fourth win in this category. Lovely Little Farm won in the Pre-School Live Action category for Darrall Macqueen Ltd and Apple TV+, one of four wins for the streaming service.

The animated television series Bluey won in International. Sackboy: A Big Adventure won the Game category, following its win in the BAFTA Games Awards in 2021. The production is made by Sumo Sheffield/ Sony Interactive Entertainment.

The awards were presented by stars and content creators including Alishea Cambell-Drummond, Joseph Coelho, Dani Harmer, Jason Isaacs, Molly Rainford, Ben Shires, Inel Tomlinson, Amir Wilson, as well as 2022 BAFTA Young Presenter competition winners, Maryam Drammeh and Jeriah Kibusi.

Additionally, this weekend BAFTA hosted its first-ever Children and Young People’s Festival at its London headquarters, 195 Piccadilly. Open to the public, the festival weekend was a celebration of content for younger audiences and showcase of BAFTA’s outreach work and initiatives for young people, underscoring the arts charity’s mission to nurture and inspire the budding creatives, filmmakers and talent of tomorrow.




HILDA Production Team – Hilda Productions Limited, a Silvergate Media Company, Netflix Inc. and Mercury Filmworks/Netflix

ROBIN ROBIN Dan Ojari, Mikey Please, Helen Argo – Aardman Animations for Netflix/Netflix

THE SNAIL AND THE WHALE Production Team – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One

THE TIGER WHO CAME TO TEA Robin Shaw, Ruth Fielding, Camilla Deakin – Lupus Films Limited/Channel 4


ADA TWIST, SCIENTIST Production Team – Laughing Wild, Higher Ground Productions, Wonder Worldwide and Netflix/Netflix

EL DEAFO Gilly Fogg, Cece Bell, Will McRobb – Lighthouse Studios in association with Apple/Apple TV+

ONLY A CHILD Simone Giampaolo, Gabriella De Gara – Amka Films/YouTube

WAFFLES + MOCHI Production Team – Higher Ground Productions for Netflix/Netflix


STEVE COX Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas – Aardman Animations for Netflix/BBC One

MIC GRAVES The Amazing World of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network

MAX LANG, DANIEL SNADDON The Snail and the Whale – Magic Light Pictures/ BBC One

RHYS THOMAS Dodger – Universal International Studios for BBC/CBBC


KLAUS Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh – Netflix/Netflix

THE MITCHELLS vs THE MACHINES Mike Rianda, Kurt Albrecht, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller – Netflix/Netflix

OVER THE MOON Glen Keane, Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou – Netflix/Netflix

WOLFWALKERS Will Collins, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart – Cartoon Saloon, Melusine Productions in association with Apple/Apple TV+


ASTRO’S PLAYROOM Development Team – Asobi Team/Sony Interactive Entertainment

LEGO STAR WARS: THE SKYWALKER SAGA Development Team – TT Games/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment

RACTHET & CLANK: RIFT APART Development Team – Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive Entertainment

SACKBOY: A BIG ADVENTURE Development Team – Sumo Sheffield/ Sony Interactive Entertainment


BLUEY Joe Brumm, Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor – Ludo Studio/BBC Studios Kids & Family, Disney

CITY OF GHOSTS Elizabeth Ito, Joanne Shen, Ako Castuera – A Netflix Original Series/Netflix

KIRI AND LOU Fiona Copland, Heather Walker, Harry Sinclair – Stretchy and Yowza Animation/CBeebies

MAYA AND THE THREE Jorge Gutierrez, Tim Yoon, Jeff Ranjo – A Netflix Series/Netflix


CRACKERJACK! Steve Ryde, Jamie Wilson, Dave Skinner – BBC Studios Kids & Family/ CBBC

DEADLY 60 Production Team – BBC Studios Natural History Unit/CBBC

FYI UKRAINE INVASION SPECIAL Production Team – Fresh Start Media/Sky Kids

GYM STARS Production Team – Drummer TV for BBC/CBBC


JUSTIN FLETCHER Mr Tumble’s Busy Bus Day – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

CHRIS O’DOWD Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet Earth – Studio AKA/Apple TV+

CATHY TYSON JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies

JULIE WALTERS Terry Pratchett’s The Abominable Snow Baby – Eagle Eye Drama/Channel 4


CIRCLE SQUARE Production Team – Wyndley Animation Ltd, Kavaleer Productions ltd/Channel 5

HEY DUGGEE Grant Orchard, Sander Jones, Janine Voong – Studio AKA, BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

PIP AND POSY Production Team – Magic Light Pictures/Channel 5/Sky Kids

THE VERY SMALL CREATURES Lucy Izzard, Stephanie Owen – Aardman/Sky Kids


ANDY’S AQUATIC ADVENTURES Mark Jones, Fred Tay, Adam Oldroyd – BBC Studios Natural History Unit/CBeebies

GRACE’S AMAZING MACHINES Production Team – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

LOVELY LITTLE FARM Production Team – Darrall Macqueen Ltd/Apple TV+

SOMETHING SPECIAL Production Team – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies


BRAYDON BENT FYI Investigates: Brazil – Children Caught in the Crossfire – Fresh Start Media/Sky Kids

YOLANDA BROWN YolanDa’s Band Jam – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

GEORGE WEBSTER CBeebies Presentation – BBC/CBeebies

HAMZA YASSIN Let’s Go For A Walk – Hello Halo Kids Ltd for BBC/CBeebies


DODGER Rhys Thomas, Lucy Montgomery, Mark Freeland – Universal International Studios, a division of Universal Studio Group/CBBC

JAMIE JOHNSON Joe Talbot, Shaun Duggan, Anita Burgess – Short Form Film Ltd/CBBC

MY MUM TRACY BEAKER Spencer Campbell, John McKay, Emma Reeves – BBC Studios Kids and Family/CBBC

SILVERPOINT Production Team – Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK/CBBC


MAX LANG, SUZANNE LANG The Snail and the Whale – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One

JOE MARKHAM, MIC GRAVES, TONY HULL The Amazing World of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network

LUCY MONTGOMERY, RHYS THOMAS Dodger – Universal International Studios for BBC/CBBC

LEE WALTERS Silverpoint – Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK/CBBC


BOBBY BEYNON The Adventures of Paddington – Blue Zoo Animation, NICK Jr, Studio Canal, Heyday Films, Superprod/Nick Jr

ELLA BRIGHT Malory Towers – King Bert Productions for BBC/ CBBC

KEATON EDMUND Jamie Johnson – Short Form Film Ltd/CBBC

TAIYA SAMUEL JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies


Pippa Considine

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.