The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain has announced the winners of its 2023 awards with Aamina Ahmad, David Edgar, Vivienne Franzmann, Rebecca Hall, Katie Hims, Adam Kay, Neil McKay, and Ben Power all picking up gongs.

The awards range across 15 categories in film, television, radio, theatre, comedy, books, and videogames.

Playwright David Edgar was presented with the prestigious Outstanding Contribution Award, saying, “I believe that every professional writer should be a member of the Writers’ Guild, and I’ve been one for 40 years. Like most playwrights, I couldn’t have sustained a career in the theatre without the terms and conditions we’ve negotiated for all playwrights, which I believe are the best in the world. It’s a huge privilege to be honoured by my union for my work as an activist and as a playwright”.

The award for Best Screenplay went to Ben Power for his German-British period spy thriller Munich – The Edge of War based on the 2017 novel Munich by Robert Harris, handed to him by fellow screenwriter and director Tony Grisoni.

Steven Moffat presented Neil McKay with the Best Short Form TV Drama accolade for his television serial Four Lives. Best Long Form TV Drama went to Adam Kay for This is Going to Hurt, a BBC medical comedy-drama based on his memoirs by the same name, starring Ben Whishaw as Kay, the award was presented by Helen Lederer and collected on his behalf by James Kay.

Maurice Gran presented Jack Rooke with the award for Best TV Situation Comedy for Big Boys, while the Best Children’s TV Episode went to Rhys Thomas and Lucy Montgomery for Dodger, Episode 9, ‘Dosh’ presented to them by YouTube comedy stars Larry and Paul, with the Best Long Running TV Series accolade going to Toby Walton for Doctors, Episode 5 ‘Hello?’ presented by last year’s Outstanding Contribution to Writing winner Jack Thorne.

WGGB Chair Lisa Holdsworth said “Congratulations to all the winners of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2023. It’s been a wonderful night. It’s always an honour and a pleasure to be in a room full of writers and to celebrate their work across all the mediums, for all audiences. Thank you to all the winners and nominees for your stories and your hard work. And please know that your union will always be there to support and celebrate you.”

During the ceremony WGGB Chair Lisa Holdsworth paid tribute to Kay Mellor, and WGGB Treasurer Gail Renard paid tribute to Eric Chappell, with further tributes to other WGGB members who had sadly died in the last year.

Full list of Writers’ Guild Awards 2023 Winners:

Outstanding Contribution

David Edgar


Best Online Comedy

The Room Next Door – Boris Johnson Resignation Speech by Michael Spicer


Best Long Running TV Series

Doctors, Episode 5, ‘Hello?’ By Toby Walton


Best Writing in a Video Game

Immortality, Sam Barlow, Barry Gifford, Amelia Gray and Allan Scott


Best Children’s TV Episode

Dodger, Episode 9, ‘Dosh’ by Rhys Thomas and Lucy Montgomery


Best Radio Comedy

Whatever Happened to Baby Jane Austen by David Quantick


Best Long Form TV Drama

This is Going to Hurt by Adam Kay


Best First Novel

The Return of Faraz Ali by Aamina Ahmad


Best First Screenplay

Passing by Rebecca Hall


Best Radio Drama

Waterloo Station by Katie Hims


Best Play for Young Audiences

The IT by Vivienne Franzmann


Best Play

Wonder Boy by Ross Willis


Best Screenplay

Munich – The Edge of War by Ben Power


Best TV Situation Comedy

Big Boys by Jack Rooke


Best Short Form TV Drama

Four Lives by Neil McKay




Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.