The 29th Women in Film & Television (UK) Awards have been announced with presenter, actor, producer and writer Floella Benjamin picking up The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award
The awards celebrate talented women in front and behind the camera, with a total of fourteen categories covering all aspects of the industry including directing, performance, producing, business and project management.
Founder of Sister Pictures Jane Featherstone was presented with The Barclays Business Award by Emily Watson in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the industry, and Helena Bonham-Carter presented The Deluxe Director Award to her ‘favourite director’ Jessica Hobbs, whom she worked with on The Crown.
The Envy Producer Award went to Faye Ward presented by Steve Coogan who starred in Stan and Ollie, which was produced by Ward, while Mel Giedroyc presented Emma Oxley, who edited Good Omens, with The Technicolor Creative Technology Award. Sound Mixer Judi Lee-Headman, whose recent work includes The Capture and Britannia received The Craft Award by Britannia star David Morrissey and the Project Management Award went to Jo Burn and was presented by Stacey Dooley.
BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing host Claudia Winkleman was awarded with The EIKON Presenter Award by her good friend and fellow presenter Kirsty Young, with Derry Girls writer Lisa McGee taking home The ScreenSkills Writing Award presented by John Lloyd, and actress Cherylee Houston took home The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year accolade, presented by her Coronation Street co-star Rula Lenska.
The Walking Dead star Samantha Morton was presented with The Best Performance Award by Julian Rhind-Tutt whom she performed alongside in Harlots earlier this year, while Laurie Nunn, writer and creator of Sex Education, was presented with The Netflix New Talent Award by Meera Syal.
Newsreader and journalist Katya Adler took home The BBC News and Factual Award presented to her by Angela Rippon, and Channel 4 News presenter Krishnan Guru-Murthy handed Head of Channel 4 News, Dorothy Byrne, The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award.
Full list of Women in Film and TV Awards 2019 winners:
The Barclays Business Award
Jane Featherstone

The Technicolor Creative Technology Award
Emma Oxley

The Craft Award
Judi Lee-Headman

The ENVY Producer Award
Faye Ward

The EIKON Presenter Award
Claudia Winkleman

The IMDb Project Management Award
Jo Burn

The Netflix New Talent Award
Laurie Nunn

The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award
Cherylee Houston

The Deluxe Director Award
Jessica Hobbs

The ScreenSkills Writing Award    
Lisa McGee

The Best Performance Award
Samantha Morton

The BBC News and Factual Award          
Katya Adler

The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award
Dorothy Byrne

The EON Productions Lifetime Achievement Award
Floella Benjamin

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.