The Broadcasting Press Guild has announced the nominations for this year’s BPG Awards.

The BPG Television, Streaming & Audio Awards – for work commissioned or produced in the UK and screened in 2022 – are chosen independently by TV and audio correspondents, critics and previewers. The 49th annual BPG Awards lunch in an invite-only event to be held at The Royal Horseguards Hotel in Whitehall, London, on Friday March 24th 2023. Warner Bros. Discovery and Pact are this year’s supporters of the event.

It was a strong year for drama with six channels or streaming services represented across the two drama categories. The nominations for Best Drama series (4+ eps) include an Apple TV+ entry for the first time, Slow Horses, competing against SAS Rogue Heroes (BBC One), The English (BBC Two), The Thief, His Wife and His Canoe (ITV) and Sherwood (BBC One). In the Best Drama Mini Series (1-3 eps) category, Vardy v Rooney: A Courtroom Drama (C4) hopes for a positive verdict as it goes up against Karen Pirie (ITV), I Hate Suzie Too (Sky), I Am Ruth (C4) and Mayflies (BBC One).

A diverse group of nominees line up in the documentary categories. The Real Mo Farah (BBC One) will be hoping to stay ahead of Jeremy Paxman: Putting up with Parkinson’s (ITV), Tindler Swindler (Netflix), Banned! The Mary Whitehouse Story (BBC Two) and Aids: The Unheard Tapes (BBC Two) for the Best Documentary Mini Series (1-3 eps) award.

And Mick Jagger faces up to David Attenborough in the Best Documentary Series (4+ eps) category as My Life As a Rolling Stone (BBC Two) takes on Frozen Planet II (BBC One). Three other series are also in the running: All or Nothing: Arsenal (Amazon Prime), Lenny Henry’s Caribbean Britain (BBC Two) and Once Upon a Time in Londongrad (Sky).

The Best Actor category sees Gary Oldman, veteran star of Slow Horses on Apple TV+ taking on the very busy Paapa Essiedu (The Lazarus Project, The Capture, Gangs of London), Connor Swindells (SAS Rogue Heroes) and Ben Whishaw, star of BBC One’s This Is Going To Hurt.

First-time nominee Ambika Mod, star of This Is Going to Hurt joins Lesley Manville (Sherwood, The Magpie Murders), Anna Maxwell Martin (Motherland, A Spy Among Friends) and Nicola Walker (Marriage, The Split) in the Best Actress category, again showcasing the range of new and established talent in UK TV drama and comedy.

The third and final series of Lisa McGee’s Derry Girls (C4) is a contender for Best Comedy along with Sharon Horgan’s Motherland (BBC One), newcomer Jack Rooke’s Big Boys (C4) and Rowan Atkinson and Will Davies’s Netflix hit Man V Bee.

The three comedy writers McGee, Horgan and Rooke are also nominated for Best Writer and are up against James Graham for Sherwood and Steven Knight for Peaky Blinders (BBC One) and SAS Rogue Heroes.

The annual BPG Breakthrough Talent Award nominations are decided by the BPG’s Executive Committee. Writer Jack Rooke is in the frame for Big Boys, up against actor Lenny Rush for his role in Am I Being Unreasonable? and Ione Wells for her strong year as a BBC News political correspondent.


The full list of BPG TV and Streaming Nominations for BPG Awards 2023


Best Documentary Mini Series 1-3 eps

Banned! The Mary Whitehouse Story (BBC Two)

Paxman: Putting up with Parkinson’s (ITV)

AIDS: The Unheard Tapes (BBC Two)

The Real Mo Farah (BBC One)

Tindler Swindler (Netflix)


Best Documentary Series 4+ eps

All or Nothing: Arsenal (Amazon Prime)

Frozen Planet II (BBC One)

Lenny Henry’s Caribbean Britain (BBC Two)

My Life as a Rolling Stone (BBC Two)

Once Upon a Time in Londongrad (Sky)


Best Comedy

Big Boys (C4)

Derry Girls S3 (C4)

Man V Bee (Netflix)

Motherland – Christmas Special (BBC One)


Best Entertainment

Billy Connolly Does (Gold)

Rob & Romesh Vs (Sky)

Strictly Come Dancing S20 (BBC One)

The Traitors (BBC One)


Best Drama Mini Series 1-3 eps

I am Ruth (C4)

I Hate Suzie Too (Sky)

Karen Pirie (ITV)

Mayflies (BBC One)

Vardy v Rooney: A Courtroom Drama (C4)


Best Drama Series 4+ eps

SAS Rogue Heroes (BBC One)

Sherwood (BBC One)

Slow Horses (Apple TV)

The English (BBC Two)

The Thief, His Wife and His Canoe (ITV)


Best Actress

Ambika Mod – This is Going to Hurt

Anna Maxwell Martin – A Spy Among Friends, Motherland

Leslie Manville – Sherwood, Magpie Murders

Nicola Walker – Marriage, The Split


Best Actor

Ben Whishaw – This is Going to Hurt

Connor Swindells – SAS Rogue Heroes

Gary Oldman – Slow Horses

Paapa Essiedu – The Lazarus Project, The Capture, Gangs of London


Best Writer

Jack Rooke – Big Boys

James Graham – Sherwood

Lisa McGee – Derry Girls

Sharon Horgan – Motherland, Bad Sisters

Steven Knight – Peaky Blinders, SAS Rogue Heroes


BPG Breakthrough Talent Award

Ione Wells, BBC News, political correspondent

Jack Rooke, writer, Big Boys

Lenny Rush, actor, Am I Being Unreasonable?

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.