The Royal Television Society (RTS) has announced eight Fellowships for 2023 and a number of new appointments of Chairs for its Board, committees and national and regional centres. The Fellowships were presented last night during the RTS Patron Dinner in London.

RTS Fellowships recognise industry luminaries who have made an outstanding, sustained and exceptional contribution to the UK television industry.

(l-r) Anne Mensah, with RTS Fellowship presented by Sarah Rose

For 2023, Fellowships have been awarded to Jesse Armstrong, Writer and Producer; Ben Frow, Director of Programming, Channel 5; Steven Knight CBE, Writer, Producer and Director; Anne Mensah, VP Content, Netflix; Abi Morgan, Little Chick Productions; Rosemary Newell, Director of Content, ITV Media & Entertainment, ITV; John Ryley, Producer and Former Editor in Chief of Sky News and Jack Thorne, Writer and Producer.

(l-r) Ben Frow, with RTS Fellowship presented by Sarah Rose

Director of Unscripted at the BBC, Kate Phillips, joins the RTS’ Board of Trustees, with Clare Laycock, SVP Head of Content – Networks & Streaming, Warner Bros. Discovery UK & Ireland, appointed as the new Chair of the National Events Committee, replacing A+E Networks’ Heather Jones. For the regional centres, Sarah McCaffrey, Business Development & Partnerships Manager at the BBC, has joined as Chair of the Northern Ireland Centre, and Stuart Ray, Head of Skills and Development at IABM, has come on board as Chair of the Southern Centre.

(l-r) Jack Thorne, with RTS Fellowship presented by Simon Pitts

Theresa Wise, CEO of the Royal Television Society, said: “Last night we came together to celebrate the esteemed group of industry leaders that we have presented with Fellowships for 2023, all of which have provided an outstanding contribution to the UK television industry. We are delighted to welcome Kate Phillips to our Board of Trustees and Clare Laycock as Chair of our National Events Committee and thank Heather Jones for her support and invaluable guidance over the past few years in the role. We also wanted to take this opportunity to welcome Sarah McCaffrey and Stuart Ray as Chairs of the Northern Ireland and Southern Centres respectively and look forward to working with them closely.”

Michael Burns

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.