Discovery has unveiled a line-up of 145 sports stars and presenters who will spearhead its European coverage of the upcoming Olympic Games Tokyo 2020.

The Discovery roster includes multiple Olympic cycling gold medalist, Sir Bradley Wiggins (UK), 2004 Olympic gold medalist Carolina Klüft (Sweden), Rio 2016 gold medalist in gymnastics Fabian Hambüchen (Germany), double Olympic swimming gold medalist, Alain Bernard (France) and Olympic rowing gold medalist and four-time world champion, Rossano Galtarossa (Italy).

Discovery’s coverage will be available on discovery+, Eurosport and the Eurosport App.

The team will operate both on the ground in Tokyo and from local ‘in-country’ hubs.

Scott Young, Senior VP of Production, Content, Eurosport, said: “Our star-studded line up of world-renowned sport stars and experts for Tokyo 2020 is the most experienced and distinguished team we’ve ever had at any sporting event.

Additional names are expected to be added to ‘Team Discovery’s’ line-up of experts in the lead-up to the Opening Ceremony on 23 July.

Discovery will screen Tokyo 2020 across Europe except Russia. The Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 will be available to watch on discovery+ in Denmark, Finland, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Spain and United Kingdom. In all other European markets, except Russia, Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 will be available on Eurosport.



Seven key experts and talent including Jesper Nøddesbo (handball), Brian Holm (cycling), Søren Hansen (golf), Sarah Bro (swimming), Michael Mortensen (tennis), Rikke Hørlykke (handball) & Peter Falktoft (journalist)


Six key experts and talent including Jani Sievinen (swimming), Jarkko Nieminen (tennis), Hanna-Maria Hintsa (swimming), Henrik Dettmann (basketball), Teemu Ranniko (basketball) & Tiina Sten (basketball)


35 key experts and talent including Alain Bernard (swimming), Émilie Le Pennec (artistic gymnastics), Arnaud Tournant (cycling), Jacky Durand (cycling), Laurent Chambertin (volleyball), Arnauld di Pasquale (tennis), Céline Geraud (judo), Amelie Goudjo (handball), Nodjialem Myaro (handball), Sarah Ourahmoune (boxing), Dominique Basset (rowing), Jamal Belmir (karate), Kamel Boudra (equestrian), Stephane Caristan (athletics), Theo Curin (marathon swimming), Pierre Fulla (weightlifting & wrestling), Gauthier Klauss (canoeing), Christopher Hardy (climbing), Frederique Jossinet (judo), Franck Lacaze (surfing), Cecile Locatelli (football), Marie Sempere (rugby), Audrey Cordon-Ragot (cycling) & Frederic Weis (basketball)


20 key experts and talent including Fanny Rinne (hockey), Fabian Hambüchen (gymnastics), Jens Voight (cycling), Rolf Aldag (cycling), Rico Freimuth (athletics), Pascal Hens (handball), Marc Huster (weightlifting), Gerhard Leinauer (presenter), Thomas Lurz (swimming), Wolfgang Nadvornik (presenter), Barbara Rittner (tennis), Thomas Rupprath (swimming), Mirko Slomka (football), Matthias Stach (presenter), Mischa Zverev (tennis), Steffen Fetzner (table tennis), Ole Bischof (judo), Sascha Klein (diving), Jan Jagla (basketball) & Britta Heidemann (fencing)


19 key experts and talent including Rossano Galtarossa (rowing), Hugo Sconochini (basketball), Paolo Cozzi (volleyball), Alberto Busnari (artistic gymnastics), Paolo Cané (tennis), Cristina Chiuso (swimming), Guilia Cicchine (reporter), Ilaria Colombo (gymnastics), Zoran Filicic (reporter), Andrea Giannini (athletics), Margherita Granbassi (fencing), Sara Pizzo Kasihara (presenter), Riccardo Magrini (cycling), Valentina Marchei (presenter), Andrea Meneghin (basketball), Rachele Sangiuliano (volleyball), Pino Maddaloni (judo), Roberta Vinci (tennis) & Francesco Panetta (athletics)


Three key talent announced so far including Tessa Velduis (presenter), Sander Kleikers (presenter) and Koen Weijland (presenter)


15 key experts and talent including Ida Alstad (handball), Kurt Asle Arvesen (cycling), Ingvil Måkestad Bowim (athletics), Myhre Asbjørn (commentator), Henrik Bjørnstad (golf), Ole Gustav Gjekstad (handball), Thomas Hansvoll (boxing), Knut Holman (boxing), Pål Gordon Nilsen (presenter), Kjersti Tysse Plätzer (athletics), Anne Rimmen, (presenter), Carsten Skjelbreid (presenter), Ølvind Sørvald (tennis), Tom Stiansen (commentator) & Susanne F Wergeland (presenter)


10 key experts and talent including Adam Korol (rowing), Robert Korzeniowski (athletics), Aneta Pastuszka (canoeing), Pawel Czapiewski (athletics), Paweł Januszewski (athletics), Jolanta Kumor (athletics), Anna Rogowska (athletics), Piotr Gruszka (volleyball), Sylwia Gruchala (fencing) & Julia Michalska (rowing)


16 key experts and talent including Alberto Contador (cycling), Rafael Pascual Cortés (volleyball), Vicente Javier Torres Ramis (swimming), Alex Corretja (tennis), José Javier Hombrados (handball), Jordi Arrese (tennis), Eduardo Chozas Olmo (cycling), María Jesús Rosa Durán (Chus Rosa) (hockey), Jose Luis Abajo Gomez (fencing), Anabel Medina Garrigues (tennis), Piti Hurtado (basketball), Ibai Llanos (gaming content creator), Chema Martinez (athletics), Angel Rodriguez (athletics), Dori Ruano (cycling) & Sandra Sanchez Riquelme (football)


Eight key experts and talent including Carolina Klüft (athletics), Anna Laurell-Nash (boxing), Simon Sjödin (swimming), Lars Christensson (equestrian), Peter Häggström (athletics), Michel Tornéus (athletics), Linnea Torstenson (handball) & Veronica Wagner (gymnastics)


Six key experts and talent including Sir Bradley Wiggins (cycling), Greg Rutherford (athletics), Jo Rowsell MBE (cycling), Orla Chennaoui (presenter), Radzi Chinyanganya (reporter) and Reshmin Chowdhury (presenter)



Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.