Bafta has announced the winners of the British Academy Television Craft Awards.

The ceremony, which was broadcast online on Friday, was hosted by Stephen Mangan, with guest presenters Romesh Ranganathan, Rachel Parris, Jessica Knappett and Richard Ayoade, the host of the upcoming Virgin Media British Academy Television Awards on 31 July.

Chernobyl was successful in seven categories: Costume Design, Director: Fiction, Editing: Fiction, Original Music, Photography & Lighting: Fiction, Production Design and Sound: Fiction.

His Dark Materials, the drama based on the series of novels by Philip Pullman, received two awards: Special, Visual & Graphic Effects and Titles & Graphic Identity.

The Breakthrough Talent category was won this year by Aisling Bea for her writing debut This Way up.

The award for Entertainment Craft Team was presented to David Bishop, Vicky Gill, Andy Taypley and Patrick Doherty for Strictly Come Dancing.

The new Scripted Casting award was presented to Des Hamilton for Top Boy, the crime drama series.

First-time winners included: Janet Fraser Crook, Director: Multi-Camera for Glastonbury 2019; Michael Harte, Editing: Factual for Don’t F–k With Cats: Hunting an Internet Killer; Arthur Cary, Director: Factual for The Last Survivors; Loz Schiavo, Make Up & Hair Design for Peaky Blinders; and Jamie Demetriou, Writer: Comedy for Stath Lets Flats.

Jesse Armstrong, creator of the satirical American comedy-drama series Succession, won the award for Writer: Drama.

The award for Sound: Factual was won by the Sound Team for Battle of the Brass Bands. The award for Photography Factual was awarded to Seven Worlds, One Planet.

Nicky Sargent and Vikki Dunn, joint founding directors of The Farm Group, were honoured with the BAFTA Special Award, one of BAFTA’s highest honours. The pair received the award in recognition of their exceptional careers and dedication to the field of post-production.


Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.