UK indies Rogan Productions, BBC Studios, Atomized, Objective and Quicksilver have collected 2022 Rose d’Or Awards.

Rogan won for best Arts show with Freddie Mercury: The Final Act; Quicksilver, with Passion, for Current Affairs, with Afghanistan: No Country for Women; BBC Studios’ Casualty picked up the award for best Soap; Atomized, with Red Bull Studios won best Documentary, for The Real Mo Farah; and Objective, with Wiip, landed best Comedy for Toast of Tinseltown.

The Emerging Talent Award has gone to 19-year-old British actress Yasmin Finney for her performance in the hugely popular Netflix hit, Heartstopper, about teens who discover their unlikely friendship might be something more as they navigate the complexities of school and young love.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which honours a television personality for their exceptional contribution to the entertainment industry, was presented to Scottish actor Brian Cox for his outstanding performance in HBO’s global hit Succession, as well as his decades of TV, film and stage success.

Receiving an additional accolade, Succession also picked up the award for best Drama. Brian Cox said: “I just want to thank everyone at Rose d’Or for this wonderful, wonderful recognition of our show Succession…this is an extreme honour and thank you so much.”

Danish actress Sidse Babett Knudsen won the Rose d’Or Performance of the Year Award for her defining role in Borgen, the story of a woman who, against all odds, becomes the first female prime minister of Denmark.

Chair of the Jury, Mark Rowland said: “The Rose d’Or 2022 has given us new stories, situations and creative approaches to delight and inform audience around the world. It has come down to a fantastic group of nominees and to these worthy winners. Huge congratulations to them all. For anyone who hasn’t watched these shows yet, you have a treat in store!”

Jean Philip De Tender, EBU deputy director general/director Media said:
“Great stories are universal. And great storytelling is so much more than reciting lines or pointing a camera. All the winners of this year’s Rose d’Or Awards have achieved something special. They have asked us to dig deeper by engaging our emotions with compelling broadcasts that will resonate long after the final credits have rolled. My congratulations go to them and to the Rose d’Or team for, once again, highlighting an incredible body of work.”

The full list of winners is as follows:

Children and Youth
Talking Heads
Keplerfilm/ VPRO/ Netherlands

Multiplatform Series
Stop it now
Every Media/ NTR/ NPO Zapp/ Netherlands

Soap or Telenovela
BBC Studios/ BBC One/ UK

News and Current Affairs
Afghanistan: No Country for Women
Quicksilver Media/ Passion/ GBH Frontline/ ITV/ UK

Audio Entertainment
Pillow Talk
Audiocraft/ Audible/ Easy Tiger/ Australia

Freddie Mercury: The Final Act
Rogan Productions/ BBC/ BBC Two/ UK

Comedy Drama and Sitcom
The Great
MRC Television/ Paramount Global Content Distribution/ Starzplay/ USA

The Real Mo Farah
Atomized Studios/ Red Bull Studios/ BBC/

Reality and Factual Entertainment
The Traitors
IDTV/ POSVIDEO/ All3Media International/ RTL 4/ Netherlands

Toast of Tinseltown
Objective Fiction/ Wiip/ All3Media International/ BBC Two/ UK

Studio Entertainment
The Musical of your Life
Dedsit/ BE ENTERTAINMENT/ SBS/ Play 4/ Belgium

HBO Entertainment/ Project Zeus/ Hyperobject Industries/ Gary Sanchez Productions

Pippa Considine

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.