The Royal Television Society Scotland has announced the winners of the 2023 Programme Awards. 

Presenters Shereen Cutkelvin and Sanjeev Kholi handed out 28 awards to winners at Glasgow’s Old Fruitmarket last night.  Among those receiving gongs were River City’s 20th Anniversary programme (BBC Studios) which won Best Drama; Travelling Auctioneers (STV Studios for BBC One) for Best Daytime Programme; and Reporting Scotland (BBC Scotland) which picked up gold in the News category. 

Tony Curran won the Best Actor – Male Award for Mayflies, Shauna MacDonald was crowned Best Actor – Female for The Scotts, and Gordon Buchanan was awarded On-Screen Personality 2022. Scot Squad (The Comedy Unit for BBC) was victorious in the Comedy category, and Rob Williams won the Writer award for his prison drama, Screw (STV Studios for Channel 4).  

The Outstanding Contribution Award was presented to Margaret Scott in recognition of her passionate commitment to Scotland’s creative sector. Alan Cumming received the RTS Scotland Special Award 2023, in recognition of his achievements across his career, from Scottish comedies, Victor and Barry and The High Life, to award-winning US series The Good Wife and his latest show, Schmigadoon! 

Alan Cumming, recipient of the RTS Scotland Special Award 2023 said: “I owe my whole career to Scotland. I made my first film here when I was 20. I got my first of many roles on Scottish Television when I was 21 and my first feature film was a Scottish co-production with a Scottish writer/director. I continue to return to my homeland to work on screen and on stage. It’s truly my honour to be back in Glasgow where it all began nearly four decades ago, to receive this award from RTS. I’m no awa to bide awa!”  

Margaret Scott, recipient of the Outstanding Achievement Award, said: “The Television Industry in Scotland has changed beyond recognition since I joined over 30 years ago and so many wonderful, passionate and talented people have driven and contributed to that change.  I am delighted to have had the opportunity to play a small part and honoured to receive this award from RTS Scotland.” 

 Stephen O’Donnell, Chair of RTS Scotland, said: “What a night! When you see all this talent together in the one room, it’s clear to see that Scotland’s creative community punches above its weight. These Awards are so important to recognise the incredible TV talent we have here in Scotland, not only to celebrate their achievements but also to inspire the next generation – something that is crucial to us at RTS Scotland.”  




Reporting Scotland, BBC Scotland News and Current Affairs 


Animation and VFX 

The World Cup 2022 Title Sequence – Here We Go!, Studio Something 



Gordon Buchanan, Jack Warrender and Keith Partidge for Snow Dogs: Into the Wild (Hello Halo Productions and Oak Island Films) 


Post Production: Motion Design and Animation (Individual and Small Team) 

Iron Sail, Revenant 


Documentary and Specialist Factual: History 

The Mystery of Anthrax Island (Indelible Telly) 


Actor – Male 

Tony Curran, Mayflies (Synchronicity Films) 



The Travelling Auctioneers (STV Studios) 


Actor – Female 

Shauna MacDonald, The Scotts (The Comedy Unit) 


Young Journalist (Presented in Memory of George Sinclair) 

Morgan Spence (BBC Scotland) 


Sport Programme 

Fight at the Fort (Amped Pictures) 


Current Affairs 

Disclosure: The Great Ferries Scandal (BBC Scotland) 



Trùir Aig Trì (Sorbier Productions) 



SMALL (Jonathan Payne, Sophie MacDonald, Laura Wiggett -The University of Edinburgh) 



River City the 20th Anniversary Episode (BBC Studios) 



Scot Squad (The Comedy Unit) 


Live Event 

World Pipe Bands Championship 2022 (BBC Scotland Productions) 



Snow Dogs – Into the Wild, Adam Wood and Jamie Hartland for Serious Facilities (Hello Halo Productions and Oak Island Films) 



Rob Williams, Screw (STV Studios) 


Documentary and Specialist Factual: Arts 

Stolen: Catching the Art Thieves (Lion Television Scotland) 


On-Screen Personality 

Gordon Buchanan (Snow Dogs into the Wild, Hello Halo Productions and Oak Island Films) 


Documentary and Specialist Factual: Science and Natural History 

The Secret Genius of Modern Life (BBC Studios: Science Unit) 


Short Form 

When We Were Famous – Scotland 72 (Studio Something) 


Entertainment and Features 

Martin Compston’s Scottish Fling (Tern TV) 



Dave Clark, The Last Stone (Tern TV) 


Documentary and Specialist Factual 

Long Live My Happy Head (Melt the Fly) 



Dr Marco J Fecerici for Rico: The Richard Demarco Story (MLC Productions and Federici Films) 


Outstanding Contribution Award 

Margaret Scott  


The RTS Scotland Special Award 2023 

Alan Cumming 


Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.