The finalists have been named for the sixth Music+Sound Awards.  

The awards are given for music composition, supervision, and sound design in the media industries.

A panel of 37 industry experts judged the awards including composers Harry Gregson-Williams (Shrek, The Martian) and Cristobal Tapia de Veer (The Girl with all the Gifts, Humans, Utopia), Nigel Marchant, executive producer at Carnival Films and Charlie Gatsky, Head of Production at ad agency, BBH.

The winners will be announced via The Music+Sound Awards’ Twitter feed, @MASawards, from 4pm on 13th July.

Below is a selection of finalists. The full list is at

Best Original Composition in Broadcast Advertising

–      Imagem Creative Services for Thomson ‘Moments’.  Composer: Biggi Hilmars
–      GOLDSTEIN for Volvo ‘Hands’. Composers: Oscar Garvin + Jonathan Goldstein
–      Soundtree Music for Grey Goose ‘Lumière’. Composers: Joel Hartman + Andrew Kingslow
–      Madplanet for Investec Private Banking ‘More Than Data’

–      Native Music Supervision for Marks and Spencer ‘Christmas with Love From Mrs Claus’. Composer: Rachel Portman
–      Felt Music for Pearl & Dean ‘Tumbleweed Trainer’. Composer: Josh Wynter

Best Original Composition in a Feature Film Score

–      Ian Arber for ‘I am Bolt’

–      Manners McDade for The Passing (Yr Ymadawiad). Composer: Jeremy Holland-Smith
–      Gil Talmi at Konsonant Music for ‘Chavela’                 
–      Rebecca Dale for ‘Crossing The Line’                 
–      Anne Nikitin for ‘This Beautiful Fantastic’

–      Metronome for ‘Blood Orange’.  Composer: Walter Mair        

Best Original Composition in a Television Programme Score

–      The Bleeding Fingers Custom Music Shop for Planet Earth II. Composers: Hans Zimmer, Jacob Shea + Jasha Klebe
–      Sony/ATV Music Publishing for National Treasure. Composer: Cristobal Tapia De Veer
–      Maurizio Malagnini for Call The Midwife 6

–      SuperPitch for Zone Blanche. Composers: Thomas Couzinier + Frédéric Kooshmanian
–      Ben Foster + Nick Foster for Thunderbirds Are Go

–      The Firm for The Lie Detective

Best Sound Design in Broadcast Advertising

–       Parv Thind at Wave Studios for DU ‘Man Sitting Next to You’

–       Sizzer Amsterdam for Renault Sport: #EnterTheZone

–       Anthony Moore at Wave Studios for Rio Paralympics 2016  ‘We’re The Superhumans’
–       Phil Bolland at Wave Studios for Save The Children ‘Every Last Child’
–       Paul Sumpter at The Futz Butler London for Honda ‘The Evolution of Stunts’    

The Wave Studios Award for Best Sound Design in a Feature Film

–       Colin Alexander at Wild Choir for Super Dark Times

-       Dave Patterson for Before The Flood

-       Alexis Place at INSONIC for Elle

Best Sound Design in a TV Programme

–       Kate Finan, Brad Meyer + Jacob Cook at Boom Box Post for Mickey and the Roadster Racers: ‘Ye Olde Royal Heist/Tea Time Trouble’
–       Stefan Leissner + Troels Jørgensen at Jelly Animation Sound Studios for LEGO Star Wars: The Freemaker Adventures
–       Hackenbacker for One of Us

-       Hackenbacker for Cold Feet

-       Hackenbacker for The Witness for the Prosecution

-       Hackenbacker for Thunderbirds Are Go

The Hummingbird Music Award for Best Sync in Broadcast Advertising

–      MUSICA Publishing for The Hospital for Sick Children – ‘SickKids VS Undeniable’. Track: Undeniable feat. Richie Sosa, Artist: Donnie Daydream
–      The Most Radicalist Black Sheep Music for Audi R8 ‘Spin’. Track: Windmills Of Your Mind Artist: Dusty Springfield. Publisher: Sony ATV (EMI Music Publishing)
–      Jonathan Watts at Adelphoi Music for Smirnoff ‘We’re Open’. Publisher: Afrotainment / West Ink Holdings
–           Rogue for Audi R8 ‘Spin’. Track: Windmills Of Your Mind Artist: Dusty Springfield. Supervisors: The Most Radicalist Black Sheep Music, Publisher: EMI Music Publishing
–      Sizzer Amsterdam for Heineken ‘When You Drive, Never Drink’. Track: Scott Bradlee’s Postmodern Jukebox ft. Nicole Atkins version of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’
–       The for Intermarché ‘l’amour l’amour l’amour’. Publisher: Warner Chapell

Best Sync in a Feature Film (Single Scene)

–      David Fish + Rupert Hollier at Metropolis Creative for Mum’s List. Track: Grow Artist: Frances. Publisher: Universal Music Publishing / Kobalt Music Publishing / Copyright Control
–      Claire Freeman at Crown Talent & Media Group for City of Tiny Lights. Track: Shedding Skin Artist: Ghost Poet. Publisher: Universal Music Publishing
–      The Most Radicalist Black Sheep Music for Home. Track: Adventure of a Lifetime Artist: Coldplay. Publisher: Universal Music Publishing / Sony/ATV
–       Ian Neil for Eddie The Eagle. Track: Bolero
–       Ian Neil for High-Rise.  Track SOS, Artist: Portishead.  Publisher: Bocu Music  
–       Dana Sano for The Conjuring 2. Track: Can’t Help Falling in Love.  Publisher: Gladys Music  

Best Sync in Television Programme (Single Scene)

–       CHROMA Music for Hollyoaks ‘No Exit’. Track: Into The Wild Artist: Lucas Vidal / Eivør
–       Nora Felder for Stranger Things. Track: Elegia Artist: New Order
–       Stephanie Diaz-Mato for The Get Down. Track: Set Me Free Artist: Herizen Guardiola (Feat. Nile Rodgers & The Americanos)
–       Universal Publishing Production Music / IM for UEFA Champions League Magazine Show – Napoli Fan.  Track: Opalescent Artist: George Keane

Best Sync in a Film Trailer / Promo

–       Will Quiney at Mute Song for The Handmaiden. Track: Red Sex Artist: Vessel
–       Supervisor, Frederic Schindler at Too Young Music for Uncle Howard. Track: Still Burning Artist: Rowland Howard. Publisher: Mute Song
–       Pusher, LLC for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.  Supervisor: AVS Music  
–       Publisher, Split Music for Raw. Supervisor: Will Quiney at Vamanos Music Track: These Moments Dismantled Artist: These Hidden Hands
–       Publisher, Split Music for The Light Between Oceans. Supervisor: Connie Farr at ThinkSync Music. Track: In The Beginning, Artist: Sean Redmond
–       Warner Music UK for Prevenge. Supervisor: Jen Moss at Warner Music Supervision
–       Warner Music UK for Manchester By The Sea. Track: Trusty & True Artist: Damien Rice

The Universal Publishing Production Music Award for Best Use of Production Music in Broadcast Advertising

–       Gez Dewar & Thomas J Indge for Sky Movies Biggest Premieres. Publisher: SATV Music, Supervisor: Sue Hepworth
–       The Firm for Knorr ‘Flavour For All’. Composers: Bob Bradley, Matt Sanchez, Steve Dymond +Rosie Doonan Publisher: Audio Network
–       Focus Music for Ikea ‘#WonderfulEveryday’

-       Focus Music for OVO Energy ‘Smart Energy’

-       EMI Production Music for Sainsbury’s ‘Food Dancing’. Composers: Alan Hawkshaw + Keith Mansfield, Supervision: Wake The Town

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.