The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has presented its annual awards with Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS earning the feature film award for Dune: Part One.

The 36th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards also celebrated Pat Scola for PIG in the Spotlight Award category, and Jessica Beshir for the documentary Faya Dayi.

Winners in the episodic categories included James Laxton, ASC for The Underground Railroad; Jon Joffin, ASC for Titan; Tommy Maddox-Upshaw, ASC for Snowfall; and Michael Berlucchi and Marc Carter for Mythic Quest . Debbie Allen hosted the awards show, which was held at the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Feature Film (presented by Erik Messerschmidt, ASC)

  • Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for THE TRAGEDY OF MACBETH
  • Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for DUNE – WINNER
  • Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for NIGHTMARE ALLEY
  • Ari Wegner, ACS for THE POWER OF THE DOG
  • Haris Zambarloukos, BSC, GSC for BELFAST

-category sponsored by KESLOW CAMERA


Spotlight (presented by Sosie Bacon)

  • Ruben Impens, SBC for TITANE
  • Pat Scola for PIG – WINNER
  • Adolpho Veloso, ABC for JOCKEY

-category sponsored by PANAVISION


Documentary (presented by Denis Villeneuve)

  • Jessica Beshir for FAYA DAYI – WINNER
  • Isabel Bethencourt and Parker Hill for CUSP
  • Jan Haft and Daniel Schönauer for THE HIDDEN LIFE OF TREES

-category sponsored SONY


Motion Picture, Limited Series, or Pilot Made for Television (presented by Katherine McNamara)

  • Steve Annis for FOUNDATION – The Emperor’s Peace
  • Tim Ives, ASC for HALSTON – The Party’s Over
  • James Laxton, ASC for THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD – Chapter 9: Indiana Winter – WINNER
  • Christophe Nuyens, SBC for LUPIN – Chapter 1
  • Ben Richardson, ASC for MARE OF EASTTOWN – Illusions

-category sponsored by ARRI


Episode of a One-Hour Television Series: Non-Commercial (presented by Morgan Cooper)

  • Stuart Biddlecombe for THE HANDMAID’S TALE – The Wilderness
  • David Garbett for SWEET TOOTH – Big Man
  • David Greene, ASC, CSC for CHAPLEWAITE – The Promised
  • Jon Joffin, ASC for TITANS – Souls – WINNER
  • Boris Mojsovski, ASC, CSC for TITANS – Home
  • Kate Reid, BSC for THE NEVERS – Hanged

-category sponsored by PANAVISION


Episode of a One-Hour Television Series: Commercial (presented by LaMonica Garrett)

  • Thomas Burstyn, CSC, NZSC for SNOWPIERCER – Our Answer for Everything
  • Tommy Maddox-Upshaw, ASC for SNOWFALL – Weight – WINNER
  • Ronald Paul Richard for RIVERDALE – Chapter Eighty-Nine: Reservoir Dogs
  • Brendan Steacy, CSC for CLARICE – Silence is Purgatory
  • David Stockton, ASC for MAYANS M.C. – The Orneriness of Kings
  • Gavin Struthers, ASC, BSC for SUPERMAN & LOIS – Heritage

-category sponsored by RED DIGITAL CINEMA


Episode of a Half-Hour Television Series (presented by Tamlyn Tomita)

  • Marshall Adams, ASC for SERVANT – 2:00
  • Michael Berlucchi and Marc Carter for MYTHIC QUEST – Backstory! – WINNER
  • Adam Bricker for HACKS – There is No Line
  • Paula Huidobro for PHYSICAL – Let’s Get Together
  • Jaime Reynoso, AMC for THE KOMINSKY METHOD – And it’s Getting More and More Absurd

-category sponsored by PICTURE SHOP


This is the second ASC feature award for Fraser, who won in 2017 for LION. Fraser was also nominated in 2021 for THE MANDALORIAN. Joffin won last year for MOTHERLAND: FORT SALEM and in 2019 for BEYOND. He has also earned nominations for ALICE (2011) and THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN (2009). Laxton was previously nominated in 2017 in the feature category for MOONLIGHT.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Erik Messerschmidt, ASC, who went on to win the Oscar® for Best Achievement in Cinematography for MANK.

Honorary awards were also presented at the ceremony with Ellen Kuras, ASC, becoming the first woman to receive the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. The award was presented to Kuras by Rachel Morrison, ASC, who Oscar® nominated for MUDBOUND in the Cinematography category.

Peter Levy, ASC, ACS (PREDATOR 2, CALIFORNICATION) received the Career Achievement in Television Award from his longtime collaborator director Stephen Hopkins.

Rebecca Rhine and Amy Vincent, ASC presented John Lindley, ASC (FIELD OF DREAMS, ST. VINCENT) with the ASC Presidents Award.

The inaugural Curtis Clark Technical Achievement Award was given to Panavision’s Vice President of Optical Engineering and Lens Strategy Dan Sasaki by ASC associate member Jay Holben, who is also a technical editorial for American Cinematographer.


Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.