The Edinburgh TV Festival has announced the shortlist for its TV Awards with double BAFTA Award winning Big Zuu taking the helm as 2024 Jury President, overseeing the voting via juries made up of industry names.

The BBC leads the shortlist with 23 nominations across the broadcaster and individual talent categories. Channel 4 amassed 19 nominations and ITV 10, with global streamers Apple TV+and Disney+ securing 6 nominations each.

In the scripted categories, nominated for Best Drama are Criminal Record, Mr Bates vs The Post Office, One Day, Partygate, Slow Horses and The Reckoning, while in the Best Comedy category Big Boys, Black Ops, Boarders, Extraordinary, Such Brave Girls and The Change will compete for the top spot.

The Best International Drama category nominations go to Cristóbal Balenciaga, Poker Face, Shogun, Silo, The Bear and The Diplomat.

In the unscripted categories, the nominations for Best Popular Factual Series include Banged Up, Celebrity Race Across the World, Jay Blades’ East End Through Time, Scam Interceptors,Sort Your Life Out and The Jury: Murder Trial; in the Best Entertainment Series category, competition formats take the lead with nominations going to Squid Game: The Challenge, Taskmaster, The 1% Club and The Traitors along with I Kissed a Boy and Late Night Lycett.

In the Best Documentary category Earthsounds, Inside Iran: The Fight for Freedom, Miners’ Strike: A Frontline Story, Mr Bates vs The Post Office: The Real Story, Once Upon a Time in Northern Ireland and Tell Them You Love Me vie for the top prize.

The drama acting category includes both Toby Jones and Monica Dolan for Mr Bates vs The Post Office, nominated alongside them are Cush Jumbo for Criminal Record, Gary Oldman for Slow Horses, Julianne Moore for Mary and George and Lindsay Duncan for Truelove.

For their performances in comedy, women dominate the nominations including Nicola Coughlan for Big Mood, Gbemisola Ikumelo for Black Ops, Rose Matafeo for Starstruck, Máiréad Tyers for Extraordinary and Bridget Christie for The Change, along with Dylan Llewelyn for Big Boys.

The Breakthrough Talent nominations feature Bilal Hasna and Vivian Oparah for Dead Hot, Dylan Thomas-Smith for G’wed, Josh Tedeku for Boarders, Levi Brown for This Town and Oliver Savell for Changing Ends.

The shortlist for Best Entertainment Presenter features Amol Rajan for University Challenge, Claudia Winkleman for The Traitors, Graham Norton for The Graham Norton Show and Joe Lycett for Late Night Lycett.

Best Factual Presenter nominations include Emily Victoria for A Paedophile in My Family: Surviving Dad, Louis Theroux for Louis Theroux Interviews…, Nadifa Mohamed for Britain’s Human Zoos and Rhod Gilbert for Rhod Gilbert: A Pain in the Neck.

This year’s Climate Impact nominees cover a range of subject areas and include Netflix’s animated children’s series, Spirit Rangers, among the other nominees are Chris Packham: Is It Time to Break the Law?, Farm Rebellion, Landscape Artist of the year: Winner’s Film, Planet Earth III – Heroes and The Great Climate Fight.

Nominated for Small Indie of the Year are Afro-Mic Productions, Black Camel Pictures, Hardcash Productions, ScreenDog Productions, Synchronicity Films Ltd, Two Rivers Media Limited and Zandland.

Production Company of the Year nominees include Bad Wolf, CPL Productions, Dancing Ledge Productions, Studio Lambert, Twofour and Various Artists Limited, with Production Group of the Year featuring All3Media, Banijay UK, BBC Studios Productions, Fremantle UK, ITV Studios and Universal International Studios.

The nominations for Best On Demand Service are BBC iPlayer, Channel 4 Streaming and ITVX, with BBC One, BBC Two, Channel 4 and ITV all battling it out for the coveted Channel of the Year Award.

Special awards will be presented at the Ceremony in Edinburgh including TV Moment of the Year supported by Shutterstock and the Outstanding Achievement Award. The Edinburgh TV Awards will be held at the EICC on Thursday 22nd August.

Jon Creamer

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.