Glenda Jackson, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Laura Kuenssberg, Lesley Manville and Suranne Jones lead the nominations for this year’s Broadcasting Press Guild TV Awards, sponsored by Virgin Media.

This year’s shortlists are dominated by women’s stories in drama, comedy and factual programmes. They include documentaries about Margaret Thatcher, Jade Goody and the female experience of war (For Sama); dramas Catherine The Great, Gentleman Jack and Elizabeth is Missing; and returning comedies Fleabag, Derry Girls and Mum.

The BPG Television and Radio Awards – for work commissioned or premiered in the UK and screened in 2019 – are chosen independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers. The 46th annual BPG Awards lunch will be held at Banking Hall in the City of London on Friday March 13th 2020.

The Awards lunch will be attended by the winners, BPG members and leading broadcasting executives and sponsored for the fourth year by Virgin Media.

David Bouchier, Chief Digital Entertainment Officer at Virgin Media, said: “We’re proud to have sponsored the Broadcasting Press Guild Awards for the past four years, and to have celebrated so much talent within the industry in that time. 2019 was a standout year for television, from unmissable dramas to TV favourites frequenting our screens once again, and this year’s BPG nominations truly highlight the strength and breadth of great TV.”
The full list is:

Best Single Documentary/Mini-Series
For Sama (C4)
Jade: The Reality Star Who Changed Britain (C4)
Leaving Neverland (C4 + HBO)
The Brexit Storm: Laura Kuenssberg’s Inside Story (BBC Two)
Best Documentary Series
Damien Lewis: Spy Wars (A & E Networks)
Seven Worlds, One Planet (BBC One)
Spotlight on the Troubles: A Secret History (BBC One)
Thatcher: A Very British Revolution (BBC Two)
The Repair Shop (BBC One)
Best Single Drama/Mini-Series
Catherine the Great (Sky Atlantic)
Elizabeth is Missing (BBC One)
Guilt (BBC Two)
The Virtues (C4)
Best Drama Series
Chernobyl (Sky Atlantic + HBO)
Giri/Haji (BBC Two)
The Capture (BBC One)
World on Fire (BBC One)
Years and Years (BBC One)
Best Comedy
Brassic (Sky One)
Derry Girls Series 2 (C4)
Fleabag Series 2 (BBC Three + Amazon Prime Video)
Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special (BBC One)
Mum Series 3 (BBC Two)
Best Entertainment
The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)
Michael McIntyre’s Big Show (BBC One)
Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing Series 2 (BBC Two)
Ru Paul’s Drag Race UK (BBC Three)
Taskmaster (Dave)

Best Actress
Emily Watson – Chernobyl
Lesley Manville – Mum Series 3/World on Fire
Glenda Jackson – Elizabeth is Missing
Suranne Jones – Gentleman Jack
Best Actor
Andrew Scott – Fleabag/Black Mirror
Jared Harris – Chernobyl
Ncuti Gatwa – Sex Education
Stephen Graham – The Virtues/Line of Duty Series 5/A Christmas Carol

Best Writer
Craig Mazin – Chernobyl
Jack Thorne – His Dark Materials/The Virtues
Joe Barton – Giri/Haji
Phoebe Waller Bridge – Fleabag Series 2
Russell T Davies – Years and Years
BPG Breakthrough Award
Erin Doherty – The Crown Series 3
Ncuti Gatwa – Sex Education
Youssef Kerkour – Home/Criminal/Sex Education/Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special

Staff Reporter

Share this story

Share Televisual stories within your social media posts.
Be inclusive: is open access without the need to register.
Anyone and everyone can access this post with minimum fuss.