Subscribe Online  

RTS calls for programme award entries

RTS calls for programme award entries
David Wood
28 August 2014

The Royal Television Society has called for entries for its RTS Programme Awards to be held on 17 March 2015.

The Awards seek to recognise programmes which have made a material and positive contribution to their genre through originality, creative risk-taking or outstanding quality.

For the second year the RTS is looking for entries from creators offering content on non-broadcast platforms, providing the submitted programme is a UK production (with the exception of the International Award).

Last year’s Awards saw Olivia Colman pick up the prize for female actor for her roles in Broadchurch (ITV) and Run (Channel 4), while Idris Elba won the male actor award for his role in Luther (BBC1).

received the award for drama serial.

Other winners included Brendan O'Carroll for comedy performance for Mrs Brown's Boys (BBC1); Peaky Blinders (BBC2) for drama series; Dumping Ground (CBBC) for children's fiction, Gogglebox (Channel 4) for popular, factual and features, and Educating Yorkshire (Channel 4) for documentary series.

The awards will be chaired by David Liddiment.

The closing date for entries is Friday 21 November 2014.

All programmes entered should have been first transmitted between the period 1 November 2013 and 31 October 2014.

The Awards will be presented on Tuesday 17 March 2015 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London. 

For more information or to download an entry form visit:

The Award categories are:

Single drama – recognises dramas transmitted as a single piece.
Drama serial – recognises a drama with a continuous story, but with a finite end.
Drama series – recognises a drama series, defined as having continuing characters in self-contained stories.
Soap and continuing drama – recognises half hour or hour long multi-unit entities running throughout the year with one or more episode per week.
Writer – drama – recognises writers of original drama and adaptation.

Scripted comedy – recognises situation comedies, comedy dramas and sketch shows.
Entertainment – recognises both single programmes and series.
Writer – comedy – recognises comedy writers on both one-off shows and series.

Actor (female) – recognises performance by a female actor.
Actor (male) – recognises performance by a male actor.
Entertainment performance – recognises hosts, comperes and panellists performing as themselves in a pure entertainment format.
Comedy performance – recognises actors/performers in sitcom, comedy drama and sketch shows.

Presenter – recognises presenters only, not performers in an entertainment show.

History – recognises series and single programmes within the history genre.
Science & natural history – recognises series and single programmes within the Science & Natural History genre.
Arts – recognises series and single programmes within the arts genre.
Single documentary – recognises programmes conceived as a single documentary or as a one-off programme that is part of a documentary strand.
Documentary series – recognises a general documentary series which usually has a continuous narrative or is linked by a central theme.
Popular factual and features – recognises originality and innovation in popular factual and features programmes.
Daytime programme – recognises programmes running from 6.00am to 7.00pm.
Children’s fiction – recognises series (one episode) and single children’s drama and comedy programmes.
Children’s programme – recognises series (one episode) and single children’s factual, entertainment and animation programmes.

Live event – recognises coverage of a live event, including sport. The focus for this award will be on the commentary, pictures and sound, what was shown or not shown, editing, packaging, punditry and presentation.
Sports programme – recognises production and editorial values in actuality sports programming – event coverage/live or recorded, strand or individual programme.
Sports presenter, commentator or pundit – recognises the best work by a sports presenter or pundit/analyst either on location or in the studio, or a sports commentator on location.

This award recognises a single programme or series acquired from the international marketplace, covering all genres.

This award is presented in recognition of an outstanding contribution to UK television programming (excluding Television Journalism), either during the criteria year or over a number of years, by an individual or a group.

Presented at the discretion of the judges, this Award recognises an outstanding broadcaster for an on-screen or off-screen achievement over a number of years. This Award is in the gift of the Judges and cannot be entered by broadcasters, although suggestions would be welcome.

Be the first to comment.

Televisual Media UK Ltd 23 Golden Square, London, W1F 9JP
©2009 - 2017 Televisual. All rights reserved
Use of this website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use | Disclaimer